Fire Science Technology

Request Information. Visit a Campus.

 

Certificate: Fire Science

Campus(s):Blue River: Public Safety Institute
Contact: 816.604.6700

Pre-Entrance Requirements for Fire Fighter Trainees

Students who wish to apply for the Fire Academy need to apply in person at the MCC-Blue River Student Services desk.

Fire Academy Requirements

  1. Must be at least 18 years of age
  2. Must have a high school diploma or GED
  3. Must complete COMPASS test unless a college-level English course has been satisfactorily completed. Minimum COMPASS scores are 70 in writing and 72 in reading.  Any writing or reading deficiency must be remediated prior to Academy enrollment
  4. Posses a valid Missouri Drivers License.

NOTE: You must be 21 years of age to apply at some departments.

Missouri State Licensing Requirements

NOTE: Violations of the following will not deny you entry into the Academy but will prevent FIRE FIGHTER I & II and EMTP licensure. Please read the following DFS certification policy and state statute and sign the statement of understanding.

Missouri Division of Fire Safety (MDFS) Certification Policy

5.1 Suspension, Revocation, or Denial of Certification - MDFS Certification Policy and Procedures Manual

The Director of the division of Fire Safety may suspend, revoke or deny certification to any individual when it is found that the individual:

  1. Has knowingly made a material misrepresentation of any information required for certification at any level offered by the Division of Fire safety
  2. Has knowingly by any means of false pretense, deception, fraud, misrepresentation or cheating obtained training or certification
  3. Has been convicted of or pled guilty to a felony
  4. Fails to achieve a score of 70% on the state written examination
  5. Fails to successfully pass state practical examination.

Emergency Medical Technician - Paramedic Licensing Chapter 190 RSMo

Suspension or revocation of licenses, grounds for:

190.165.1. The department may refuse to issue or deny renewal of any certificate, permit or license required pursuant to sections 190.100 to 190.245 for failure to comply with the provisions of sections 190.100 to 190.245 or any lawful regulations promulgated by the department to implement its provisions as described in subsection 2 of this section. The department shall notify the applicant in writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his or her right to file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo.

The department may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any certificate, permit or license required by sections 190.100 to 190.245 or any person who has failed to renew or has surrendered his or her certificate, permit or license for failure to comply with the provisions of sections 190.100 to 190.245 or any lawful regulations promulgated by the department to implement such sections. Those regulations shall be limited to the following:

  1. Use or unlawful possession of any controlled substance, as defined in chapter 195, RSMo, or alcoholic beverage to an extent that such use impairs a person's ability to perform the work of any activity licensed or regulated by sections 190.100 to 190.245;
  2. Being finally adjudicated and found guilty, or having entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal prosecution under the laws of any state or of the United States, for any offense reasonably related to the qualifications, functions or duties of any activity licensed or regulated pursuant to sections 190.100 to 190.245, for any offense an essential element of which is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence, or for any offense involving moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is imposed;
  3. Use of fraud, deception, misrepresentation or bribery in securing any certificate, permit or license issued pursuant to sections 190.100 to 190.245 or in obtaining permission to take any examination given or required pursuant to sections 190.100 to 190.245;
  4. Obtaining or attempting to obtain any fee, charge, tuition or other compensation by fraud, deception or misrepresentation;
  5. Incompetency, misconduct, gross negligence, fraud, misrepresentation or dishonesty in the performance of the functions or duties of any activity licensed or regulated by sections 190.100 to 190.245;
  6. Violation of, or assisting or enabling any person to violate, any provision of sections 190.100 to 190.245, or of any lawful rule or regulation adopted by the department pursuant to sections 190.100 to 190.245;
  7. Impersonation of any person holding a certificate, permit or license or allowing any person to use his or her certificate, permit, license or diploma from any school;
  8. Disciplinary action against the holder of a license or other right to practice any activity regulated by sections 190.100 to 190.245 granted by another state, territory, federal agency or country upon grounds for which revocation or suspension is authorized in this state;
  9. For an individual being finally adjudged insane or incompetent by a court of competent jurisdiction;
  10. Assisting or enabling any person to practice or offer to practice any activity licensed or regulated by sections 190.100 to 190.245 who is not licensed and currently eligible to practice pursuant to sections 190.100 to 190.245;
  11. Issuance of a certificate, permit or license based upon a material mistake of fact;
  12. Violation of any professional trust or confidence;
  13. Use of any advertisement or solicitation which is false, misleading or deceptive to the general public or persons to whom the advertisement or solicitation is primarily directed;
  14. Violation of the drug laws or rules and regulations of this state, any other state or the federal government;
  15. Refusal of any applicant or licensee to cooperate with the department of health and senior services during any investigation;
  16. Any conduct or practice which is or might be harmful or dangerous to the mental or physical health of a patient or the public;
  17. Repeated negligence in the performance of the functions or duties of any activity licensed or regulated by sections 190.100 to 190.245.

Other Downloads of Interest:
Last Modified: 9/26/11