Distinguished Alumni

MCC Distinguished Alumni Award

The Distinguished Alumni Award is the highest award presented to an alumnus by the Metropolitan Community College Foundation. The award recognizes an alumnus who has brought honor to the College through professional achievements, leadership and community impact.

Nominations can be made by current MCC students and employees as well as community members. A nominee's name remains in status for three years, after which the nomination may be resubmitted. Acknowledgment of nominations will be sent to the nominators. Nominations will be accepted until selections are made.

The Distinguished Alumni honoree will receive the award at MCC's commencement ceremony. A formal invitation will be sent to the honoree; attendance is mandatory. If the honoree is deceased, someone may accept the award posthumously.

2023 MCC Distinguished Alumni Award recipients

Meet Jon Stephens and Fahteema Parrish, 2023 Distinguished Alumni Award recipient, Metropolitan Community College Foundation

How to nominate

Any member of the MCC community may nominate a Metropolitan Community College alumnus by completing a nomination form. Please note that nominees remain nominated for three years after receipt of their nomination.

Nomination process

Are you ready to nominate?

Provide the following:

  1. Completed Distinguished Alumni Nomination Form (PDF)
  2. A cover letter nominating the alumnus to be honored
  3. A vita or professional resume of the nominee
  4. Two letters of support for the nominee from individuals other than the nominator
  5. A list of awards and/or honors

Send completed nomination form and documents to:

MCC Foundation
ATTN: Distinguished Alumni Nomination
3200 Broadway
Kansas City, MO 64111

MCC alumni

Since the first graduating class in 1916, our alumni have distinguished themselves in many fields. These are just a few of the many stars launched from MCC during the last century-plus.

Paul Berardi, former Kansas City, Missouri, fire chief

Jake Blackwood, major league baseball player

Don Blim, M.D., renowned pediatrician

Allen Block, real estate icon

Hal Boyle, Associated Press columnist, Pulitzer Prize winner

Alvin Brooks, social justice activist

Nancy Bruns, executive director, Lee's Summit Chamber of Commerce

Bob Dernier, former major league baseball player

William N. Deramus III, former president, Kansas City Southern

Carl DiCapo, community leader and restaurateur

Jean Dunn, philanthropist

Marvin Dunn, M.D., former University of Kansas Health System cardiologist

Rick Easley, former Kansas City, Missouri, police chief

Steve Edwards, president and CEO, Black & Veatch

Denise Farris, founder, Farris Law Firm

John Fierro, executive director, Mattie Rhodes Center

Tyrone Flowers, founder, Higher M-Pact

Darryl Forté, Jackson County, Missouri, sheriff and former Kansas City, Missouri, police chief

Jo Anne Gabbert, founder, Gabbert and Associates

Christopher Gentile, president, Honeywell Federal Manufacturing & Technologies

William G. Gray, judge

Mamie Hughes, community activist

Terin Humphrey, 2004 Olympic silver medalist

Mary Hunkeler, community volunteer

Sly James, former Kansas City, Missouri, mayor

Clay Johnson, former NBA player

Ewing Kauffman, entrepreneur and philanthropist

Jack Kilroy Sr., co-founder, Shughart Thomson & Kilroy PC

Bonyen Lee, former KCTV5 news reporter and anchor

Brian Lincoln, co-founder and CEO, Ultrax Aerospace Inc.

Mark Long, president & CEO; Newark Zimmer

Matt Mason, U.S. Navy SEAL

Logan Morrison, major league baseball player

Michael Murphy, director of programming, Kansas City PBS

William Nofsinger, former president, Nofsinger Inc.

Jerry Nolte, former Missouri state representative

Norman Polsky, philanthropist

William Powell, actor and three-time Academy Award nominee

Albert Pujols, major league baseball player

Louis Quijas, president, Datong PLC; former assistant director, FBI

Charlie Shields, president and CEO, University Health; former Missouri Senate president pro tem

Edgar Snow, writer, Saturday Evening Post

Erik Timpson, Ph.D., principal electrical engineer, Honeywell Federal Manufacturing & Technologies

Virgil Thomson, composer and Pulitzer Prize winner

Henry Wash, founder, High Aspirations Inc.

Charles Wheeler, M.D., J.D., former Kansas City, Missouri, mayor

Frank White, Jackson County, Missouri, Executive and former baseball player and coach